Listen Live

- Advertisement -
HomeNewsNorthwest Community College name change

Northwest Community College name change

The Northwest Community College (NWCC) has deliberated for nearly two years and will now be known as the Coast Mountain College.

NWCC President and CEO Ken Burt states multiple reasons for the name change.

“If you search Northwest College or Northwest Community College you can find up to 15 similar institution names. Coast Mountain College will offer a bit of uniqueness and allow those inquiring to find us easier. ”

A changing in the schools 1974 mandate was also reasoning for the new name.

“NWCC began offering undergraduate university courses in ’74. Typically, community colleges do not offer university credit courses, so this was another way of staying up to date by dropping the word community.”

And the final reasoning for the name change was making sure all of the NWCC was represented properly.

“NWCC wasn’t authentic in the sense that some of our schools don’t even reside in Northern BC. Coast Mountain College offers a proper name for all of our locations throughout BC.”

NWCC has nine BC campuses located in Hazelton, Houston, Kitimat, Masset, Prince Rupert, Queen Charlotte, Skidegate, Smithers, and Terrace.

The name change takes effect on June 18th, 2018.


Continue Reading