The swearing-in ceremony for the newly elected School Board Trustees for district 54 is this afternoon.

The ceremony takes place at 4:30 pm at the School Board office at 1235 Montreal St, Smithers.

Secretary-Treasurer, Dave Marjerm say the ceremony will only last about 15 minutes.

He adds that trustees play a vital role being public representatives and setting policy.

There are seven school board positions for the four zones in the Bulkley Valley.

Lake Kathlyn / Evelyn / Moricetown – Zone 1
. Ann P Michell

Smithers / Glentanna / Driftwood – Zone 2

. Jason Krauskopf
. Floyd H Krishan
. Frank P Farrell

Telkwa Quick – Zone 3

. Edward J Quinlan

Houston – Zone 4
. Leslie Kearns
. Jennifer Williams

There are only three new school board Trustees with four incumbents re-elected.

All trustees except those in zone two ran unopposed in the recent October 20th election.