Listen Live

HomeNewsA look at who is running during this years municipal election

A look at who is running during this years municipal election

The nomination period for this year’s municipal election is officially closed.

In Smithers, Mayor Gladys Atrill will be seeking re-election and will be going against Murray Hawse. 

There are nine candidates for council with only two incumbents. 

Town Council candidates are:

  • Nick Briere
  • John Buikema (Incumbent)
  • Calvin Elliott
  • Adam Koch
  • Laura Leonard
  • Jason McCrindle
  • Sam Raven
  • Genevieve Patterson
  • Frank Wray (Incumbent)

According to CivicInfo BC, there are over 4,000 people in the area eligible to vote. 

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

In Houston, mayor Shane Brienen will be seeking re-election and is unopposed. 

Seven people are in the running for the six council seats available. 

Council candidates are: 

  • Tom Euverman (Incumbent)
  • Rebecca Hougen
  • Troy Reitsma (Incumbent)
  • Thomas Stringfellow (Incumbent)
  • Jonathan Van Barneveld (Incumbent)
  • Daphne Tofsrud
  • Lisa Mueller

The Village of Granisle Mayor, Linda McGuire will once again be running and she is unopposed. 

There will be five people running for a councillor spot with four of them incumbent. 


  • Karen Barber (Incumbent)
  • Kathy Bedard (Incumbent)
  • Marilyn Berglund (Incumbent)
  • Heather Dedio
  • Calvin Thompson (Incumbent)

In Hazelton, there will be two candidates for mayor.

- Advertisement -

The first is Charlotte Linford with the second candidate Julie Maitland. 

Council will be running unopposed as there are four candidates for the four seats, three of them are incumbents. 


  • Christine Anonuevo
  • Wendy Blackstock (Incumbent)
  • Buddy Smith (Incumbent)
  • Jody Tetreau (Incumbent)

As for New Hazelton, current mayor Gail Lowry will be running against Robert Henwood.

For the six council seats, the candidates will be running unopposed and are all incumbents.


  • Allan Berg (Incumbent)
  • George Burns (Incumbent)
  • Jutta Hobenshield (Incumbent)
  • Ray Sturney (Incumbent)
  • Braunwyn Henwood (Incumbent)
  • Mike Weeber (Incumbent)

Meanwhile in Burns Lake, three people have put their name forward for the hope of becoming mayor. 

- Advertisement -

Joshua Platt, John Raunch and Henry Wiebe are all vying to become the next mayor. 

As for council, five people are in the running for the four spots with three of them incumbents.


  • Kristy Bjarneson (Incumbent)
  • David Cummer 
  • Darrel Hill (Served prior to 2018)
  • Charlie Rensby (Incumbent)
  • Kevin White (Incumbent)

As for the Village of Telkwa, two current councillors are running for the mayor spot.

Leroy Dekens and Derek Meerdink are vying to become the mayor. 

Council candidates will be running unopposed as there are four people in the running for the four seats with only one incumbent. 


  • Lee Ewald
  • Cathy Frenette
  • Annette Morgan (Incumbent)
  • Simon Schat

Advanced polls will be held in each community on October 5 for those who cannot attend a polling station on General Election Day.

General Election Day is on October 15.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading